May 18th 2012

The 2012 Trophée Chopard


On May 17th 2012, the Trophée Chopard ceremony was held in the lounges of the Hotel Martinez and attended by great names in the world of cinema. Shailene Woodley, who plays George Clooney’s excellent elder daughter in Alexander Payne’s The Descendants, and Ezra Miller, the new actor to keep an eye out for, recently seen in Another Happy Day (Sam Levinson) received their awards, presented by Sean Penn.

Born of Caroline Scheufele’s passion for the 7th art, the objective of the Trophée Chopard, awarded in conjunction with Variety magazine and with the support of Cannes Festival President, Gilles Jacob, is to encourage new talent in the world of cinema by rewarding a Best Young Actor and Actress of the Year.

For this 12th event, in addition to Caroline Scheufele, the jury consisted of Steve Gaydos, Executive Editor of Variety, Michael Roskam, film producer (Bullhead), Sarah Siegel-Magness, film producer (Precious), and Sharon Lawrence, actress (Middle of Nowhere). After much thought, these professionals decided on Shailene Woodley and Ezra Miller.

Presented by Elisabeth Quinn, the ceremony also looked back on 11 years of the Trophée Chopard, accompanied by a short retrospective documentary. The two young actors accepted their prizes with gratitude and emotion. Created by Caroline Scheufele herself, and as precious to receive as to look at, the Trophée Chopard is a powerful symbol of the cinema – a strip of film roll finely crafted by the hands of the House’s master jewellers.

“The Trophée Chopard is one of my favourite events. It touches me immensely because it is a tribute to young talents and a window on the future of cinema” confesses Caroline Scheufele in an aside.

After the prize-giving, winners, members of the jury and prestigious guests congregated on the terrace of the Chopard Lounge, located on the top floor of the Hotel Martinez, for an elegant party. In this refined setting, the guests also enjoyed an exceptional and exclusive performance by the excellent Lana Del Rey in Chopard, who came specially from the United States for the occasion.

Amongst the guests invited to this evening with its “glamourous” dress code, were a large number of VIPs who responded to the invitation sent by our Co-President. Marion Cotillard, former Trophée Chopard winner and wearing Chopard, Fan Bing Bing, Paz Vega, Bérénice Béjo, Eva Herzigova, Dolores and Carmen Chaplin, all in Chopard, as well as Sean Combs and Harvey Weinstein were also on the guest list of this lively evening.